Home Elizabeth Haydon Requiem for the Sun

Requiem for the Sun (The Symphony of Ages)
Series: The Symphony of Ages
Volume: 4
Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 0312878842
Publisher: TOR
Price: $27.95
Reader Rating: 9 out of 10
Votes: 19
Requiem for the Sun by Elizabeth Haydon

Description: In the bestselling Rhapsody Trilogy, a fellowship was forged by Rhapsody the Singer, Achmed the assassin-king, and Grunthor the giant Sargeant-Major, culminating with Destiny, a thundering crescendo of tragedy, love, and the triumph of the human spirit over world-shattering cataclysm.

Now, three years later, peace has settled across their land. But to the south, an empire lies ready to crumble. When the Dowager Empress dies with no successor, brutal war looms on the horizon.

And an old nemesis of Rhapsody's - presumed dead for centuries - resurfaces, forcing her to choose between facing his depravity or sacrificing her own life . . . and that of her unborn child.

'Though obviously inspired by music theory, Norse and Celtic folklore, and seemingly by such authors as Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, Patricia A. McKillip, Anne McCaffrey and Palmer Brown, the author uses a fluid writing style to build a world uniquely and compellingly her own. In this shimmering symphony of exhaustive detail, epic myths, music and magic interwine in a resounding fugal crescendo. Haydon fans sorry to see the end of the trilogy can take heart in knowing that the Rhapsody Saga's vast historical timeline contains plenty of unexplored epochs and eras ripe for future book treatment.' -Publishers Weekly on Destiny

Also in this series are Rhapsody: Child of Blood, Prophecy: Child of Earth, Destiny: Child of the Sky, Elegy for a Lost Star, The Assassin King Return to the Elizabeth Haydon page.

Add inline Comment