Home Mervyn Peake Titus Groan

Titus Groan (Gormenghast)
Series: Gormenghast
Volume: 1
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Eyre & Spottiswoode
Reader Rating: 8 out of 10
Votes: 7
Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake

Description: Dost thou love picking meat? Or would'st thou see
A man in the couds and have him speak to thee?


"...Titus Groan, the first novel in a trilogy, appeared in 1946. Its author, Mervyn Peake, was then thirty-five. Critical response to the book was very favourable, in some instances ecstatic. Peake continued the adventures of his hero and the elaboration of his hero's world [in two sequels]...Fine though these sequels were, they could not repeat the impact of the first book: 1946, year of austerity, was very ready for imaginative feasts. But, despite the praise of the critics, Titus Groan never reached the widest possible public; it was destined to be something of a coterie obsession..."

Also in this series are The Gormenghast Trilogy, Gormenghast, Titus Alone Return to the Mervyn Peake page.

Add inline Comment