Home  Authors Andrew J Offutt

About Author
Andrew J. Offutt (born August 16, 1934) is an American science fiction and fantasy author. His normal byline has his name in all lower-case letters.
Offutt began publishing in 1954 with the story "And Gone Tomorrow" in If. Despite this early sale, he doesn't consider his professional life to have begun until he sold the story "Blacksword" to Galaxy in 1959 His first novel was Evil Is Live Spelled Backwards in 1970.
He wrote a series of books based upon a lesser known character of Robert E. Howard, Cormac mac Art.
Offutt published numerous novels and short stories, including many in the "Thieves World" series edited by Robert Lynn Asprin and Lynn Abbey, which feature his best known character, the thief Hanse, also known as Shadowspawn (and, later, Chance). He also edited a series of anthologies entitled Swords Against Darkness, which included the first professional sale by Charles de Lint.
His son is the author Chris Offutt
Books (Sort by Title)[20 books listed]
 Conan VolumeYearRating
 Conan and the Sorcerern/a1982n/a
 Conan: The Sword of Skelos3197910/10

 Cormac Mac Art VolumeYearRating
 the Undying Wizardn/a1976n/a
 The Tower of Deathn/a1982n/a
 The Mists of Doom11984n/a
 When Death Birds Fly with Keith Taylor32006n/a
 The Sword of the Gael51984n/a
 The Sign of the Moonbow71984n/a

 Misc VolumeYearRating
 Evil is Live Spelled Backwardsn/a19708/10
 The Castle Keepsn/a1972n/a
 My Lord Barbariann/a1978n/a

 The War Of Gods on Earth VolumeYearRating
 The Iron lords11984n/a
 The Lady of the Snowmist319847/10

 The War of the Gods on Earth VolumeYearRating
 Shadows Out of Hell21983n/a

 Thieves' World Novels VolumeYearRating
 The Shadow of Sorceryn/a1993n/a

 War of the Wizards VolumeYearRating
 Demon in the Mirror with Richard K. Lyon11983n/a
 Eyes of Sarsis with Richard K. Lyon21980n/a
 Web of the Spider with Richard K. Lyon31981n/a
Add a book