Home Garry Kilworth The Winter Soldiers

The Winter Soldiers (Sergeant Jack Crossman)
Series: Sergeant Jack Crossman
Volume: 1
Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 0786711116
Pages: 288 pages
Publisher: Carroll & Graf Publishers
Price: $24.00
Reader Rating: 10 out of 10
Votes: 1
The Winter Soldiers by Garry Kilworth

Description: The grim reality of war after 'The Charge of the Light Brigade' and the cameraderie of professional soldiers come to life in award-winning author Garry Douglas Kilworth’s new historical series starring army officer, and occasional espionage agent, 'Fancy Jack' Crossman. After the Battle of Inkerman on November 5, 1854, the British Army in the Crimea faces the most terrible ally of the Czar’s army—the Russian winter. With hopelessly inadequate provisions and clothing, Sergeant Jack Crossman and his band of grumblers and stalwarts of the 88th Connaught Rangers are billeted at Kadikoi village near Balaclava harbor, with instructions to blow up the magazine in the Russian Star Fort. Yet Crossman’s true task is to spy on a British general accused of corruption—and to bring about his downfall by any means necessary. As Patrick O’Brian did for the British Navy, Kilworth vividly portrays the friendship and the courage of old soldiers and the brief, thrilling episodes of combat that will eventually determine the outcome of Great Britain’s most grueling war.

Also in this series are Attack on the Redan Return to the Garry Kilworth page.

Add inline Comment