Home Alastair Reynolds Zima Blue and Other Stories

Zima Blue and Other Stories (Misc)
Series: Misc
Genre: SF
ISBN: 1597800589
Pages: 280 pages
Price: $26.95
Reader Rating: Not rated
Zima Blue and Other Stories by Alastair Reynolds

Description: This is Alastair Reynolds very first short fiction collection. It spans almost the whole of his career, ranging from “Enola” (which appeared in 1991, only his third sale) right up to recent work such as “Understanding Space and Time,” a novella written in 2005, and “Signal to Noise,” a new piece written specially for this book. It is the perfect showcase for the evolution of his writing and themes over the last sixteen years, and features extensive story notes.

Since 2000, Reynolds has been publishing large novels at a rate of one a year, all but two of them are set against a consistent background known as the Revelation Space universe. The stories in "Zima Blue," however, while occasionally related to each other, do not partake of that claustrophobic, machine-haunted history. They represent a more optimistic take on humanity’s future, a view that says there may be wars, there may be catastrophes and cosmic errors, but something human will still survive.

Introduction by Paul McCauley
Angels of Ashes
Beyond the Aquila Rift
Merlin's Gun
The Real Story
Spirey and the Queen
Understanding Space and Time
Zima Blue
Return to the Alastair Reynolds page.

Add inline Comment