Home  Authors Kate Forsyth

About Author
To relieve the tedium of studying the post-modernist, post-structuralist, post-deconstructionist theories of Lacan, Derrida and de Saussure for my exams, started devouring a multi-book fantasy series.

The series is called The Witches of Eileanan and follows the adventures of a pair of twins, Isabeau and Iseult, as they battle to restore magic to its proper place in the land, on the way discovering their own true destinies. Eileanan is a land far, far away from our own world but it has many echoes with it, except that in Eileanan magic has been celebrated and developed, while we have chosen to follow the path of science and technology. The Witches of Eileanan is based on the premise that a group of Scottish witches fled the persecution of witches in the 16th century to discover a new land where they could worship their pagan, pantheistic religion and practise their magic in freedom.

Originally supposed to be three books, the series is now six books in total. Four have been released with the next in the series, The Skull of the World, due for release in June 2001 in Australia, published by Arrow Books. The first book, Dragonclaw, was short-listed for the 1997 Aurealis awards for Best Australian Fantasy Novel, debuted at No. 8 on the Locus "bestsellers" list and was chosen as one of the best fantasy books of the year in a Locus readers' poll. Book 3, The Cursed Towers, was also short listed for the 1999 Aurealis awards in the same category. Now working on a children's fantasy novel.

Lives with husband Greg, and sons, Benjamin and baby Timothy, daughter Eleanor and a little black cat called Shadow – my inspiration for the elven cats!

This author has been recommended by 12 other readers.

Books (Sort by Title)[9 books listed]
 Rhiannon's Ride VolumeYearRating
 The Tower Of Ravens120049/10
 The Shining City220069/10
 The Heart of Stars320079/10

 The Witches of Eilanan VolumeYearRating
 The Witches of Eilanan119989/10
 The Pool of Two Moons219999/10
 The Cursed Towers320009/10
 The Forbidden Land420019/10
 The Skull Of The World520029/10
 The Fathomless Caves620029/10
Add a book

Related Sites[2 of 2 sites listed]
 Witches of Eilanan
 the official kate forsyth web site
Show All Sites Add a site